Current Issue

Kairos Awards

Call for Nominations: The John Lovas Memorial Academic Weblog Award

The deadline for nominations is FEBRUARY 25, 2013.

Scholars have been making a significant contribution to the knowledge in rhetoric and composition via their weblogs in much the same way that Kairos has worked to push forward scholarship as the field's first ejournal. The John Lovas Memorial Academic Weblog Awards are sponsored by Kairos and are given in recognition of the valuable contributions that bloggers have made to the discipline and in recognition and remembrance of John Lovas's contributions to the legitimation of academic blogging.


The award will be given to the weblog which best meets the following criteria.

The weblog must:

  • Be at least six months old from the date of submission for consideration.
  • Be updated regularly (an average of at least once per week).
  • Actively engage with other academic weblogs; in other words, the blogger must be a public intellectual.
  • Deal with any of theoretical, practical, or praxis-based issues addressed in Kairos and other journals in computers and writing studies.

Please see our list of past award winners for examples of weblogs which meet these criteria.

Submission Guidelines

Please e-mail your nomination to the Kairos communication editors at

In your e-mail, please include:

  • the name and URL of the blog;
  • its author(s);
  • a description of at least two paragraphs which details why the blog meets the awards criteria. .

Awards will be presented at the 2013 Computers and Writing Conference. The deadline for nominations is February 25, 2013. If you have questions, please e-mail the Kairos Communication Editors at